Memorial Cycle Race

The XV Memorial Luis Alberto Barbero MTB 2009 cycle race was held towards the end of May, and I managed to get some photos as the competitors passed along the beach road section.
The winning rider in the male category was Adolfo ‘Fito’ Garcia Quesada, from the Dr. Bike team. In fact the Dr. Bike team made it a double with Marqueta, who won the Elite Females category for them.
Garcia Quesada led from the very first lap of the 6-kilometre track which has both on and off road sections, the campo section testing the riders with a difficult hill climb and decent.
In all there were 70 competitors, all of whom proved themselves to be excellent athletes, as this year they were also fighting against the wind and sun combined, but all maintained good rhythms and times.
There was also some local talent on show, and they were not just there to make up the numbers… in fact, the under 23 category was won by local cyclist Victor Manuel Pozo Garciolo.
The event is in memory of La Herradura cyclist Luis Alberto Barbero and organised by Asociación Ciclista La Herradura. Luis Barbero lost his life 15 years ago in a tragic accident, whilst training of this very circuit.
All the riders who mounted the podium received a trophy as well as a cash prize, ranging from 10 to 100 euros.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *